Corporate Governance Winners 2017 – The Americas

Corporate Governance Winners 2017 - The Americas Ethical Boardroom

In the US, the dialogue around corporate governance is growing. At the start of 2017, the Investor Stewardship Group, a collective of some of the largest US-based institutional investors and global asset managers, launched with a mission to establish basic standards of investment stewardship and corporate governance for the US.

Roll on seven months and its membership has more than doubled, with 38 organisations now signed on to the mission, including HSBC Global Asset Management, J.P. Morgan Asset Management, Standard Life Investments and Walden Asset Management.

The framework of basic standards for US institutional investors and boardroom conduct goes into effect on 1 January 2018, with the aim of giving organisations the time to adjust before the start of the 2018 proxy season. The initial focus will be on corporate governance principles, investment stewardship principles and the promotion of long-term value creation for US companies and the broader US economy. The framework is likely to have a major impact on how US companies govern themselves, and also improve how asset managers and owners conduct their fiduciary activities on behalf of clients.

Over in Latin America, directors believe that corporate governance has been addressed with greater depth by boards over the last couple of years and there is now an increasing focus on sustainability management. It is the consensus among 99 per cent of directors on the boards of more than 500 Latin American companies that sustainability creates financial value, according to a recent study released by GRI and global management consulting firm A.T. Kearney.

Four out of five directors in Latin America link sustainability to the corporate strategy and the identification of risks and opportunities, or understand it as an integral part of the economic, social and environmental management of the company.

Ethical Boardroom is proud to announce the winners of “Best Corporate Governance” in their respective industry sectors across the Americas for 2017. The awards recognise the outstanding leadership from boards who have raised the bar to ensure that strong corporate governance plays an essential part in protecting and enhancing long-term value for all stakeholders. Our awards program is a vital part of our continuing mission to elevate corporate governance standards globally.

For those who have made it to the top of the mountain for 2017, we salute you for leading the way.


Best Corporate Governance Pharmaceuticals Pfizer Inc.
Best Corporate Governance Manufacturing Magna International
Best Corporate Governance Food & Beverage PepsiCo Inc.
Best Corporate Governance Conglomerates Honeywell International Inc.
Best Corporate Governance Financial Services Royal Bank of Canada
Best Corporate Governance Utilities Avangrid Inc.
Best Corporate Governance Insurance Manulife Financial
Best Corporate Governance Technology Intel Corporation
Best Corporate Governance Mining Goldcorp Inc.
Best Corporate Governance Telecoms Telus
Best Corporate Governance Transportation & Logistics The Canadian National Railway Co. (CN Rail)



Best Corporate Governance Financial Services Grupo Financiero Banorte (GFNorte)
Best Corporate Governance Airlines LATAM Airlines Group
Best Corporate Governance Mining Corporación Nacional del Cobre (Codelco)
Best Corporate Governance Construction Grupo Graña y Montero S.A.
Best Corporate Governance Transportation & Logistics Grupo Aeroportuario del Centro Norte (OMA)
Best Corporate Governance Utilities Energias do Brasil (EDP)
Best Corporate Governance Holding Grupo de Inversiones Suramericana (Sura)
Best Corporate Governance Food & Beverage Union de Cervecerias Peruanas Backus y Johnston (Backus)
Best Corporate Governance Oil & Gas Empresa Colombiana de Petróleos S.A. (EcoPetrol)
Best Corporate Governance Conglomerates Grupo Argos S.A.
Best Corporate Governance Manufacturing Natura Brasil


Please note that the winners for “Asia & Australasia” regions will be announced in the Autumn 2017 edition.