Awards Methodology

Deciding which companies are ‘Corporate Governance Champions’ and which are not is an extremely challenging exercise. The fact is there is no ‘one size fits all’ approach to governance as each country, sector and organisation has its own unique structure and business culture that is constantly evolving.

With these parameters in mind, we decided to take a more holistic approach by de-constructing “Corporate Governance” into its component parts and use an advanced screening and scoring methodology that is underpinned by hard data.

Governance attributes are categorised under four pillars: Board Composition, Board Committees, Shareholder Rights and Transparency. Both the internal and external research teams further scrutinise the nominations through a thorough analysis of 120 governance factors which, in turn, is supported by a robust set of key performance indicators.

This sophisticated scoring methodology strikes a critical balance between quantitatively-driven analysis based on correlations between governance factors and key financial metrics and the qualitative aspects of global governance standards and best practice in each region.



Who is eligible to enter the Awards?
All nominated candidates must meet all eligibility requirements. The company must be a publicly listed company (PLC) or a state owned enterprise (SOE’s) and must stand out in comparison to peers in the vertical industry for which they are nominated in.

When is the deadline for submitting a nomination?
The electronic voting lines are open from September 1st 2016 to May 29th 2017

Is there a fee to submit entries?
No, there is no fee.
The entire process is free of charge – from voting to evaluation, right through to the announcement of the awards.

How does the selection and judging process work?
Nominations are received by our readership or from individual companies themselves through written submissions or by way of our on-line nomination form.

There is a two pronged evaluation system; firstly, all candidates go through a due-diligence process which will separate the strong from the weak. Those who survive and make it into round two will be sent a questionnaire that has to be answered and returned within seven days, along with an executive summary and any supporting documents, such as press coverage, awards related to the category, or highlights of the proxy statement that relate to the category. This will all be scrutinised through a detailed analysis of 120 governance factors combined with a robust set of key performance indicators.

Once the nominees have been decided, award winners will be informed individually.

Who chooses the final winners?
A panel of 4 adjudicators compromising of luminaries within the global governance sphere along with the editor will judge the final winners.

When will the winners be announced?
The official announcement of the 2017 award winners will be made in the winter, spring, summer & autumn editions of Ethical Boardroom which are published in January 2017, April 2017, July 2017 and October 2017 respectively. We will also distribute a press release to our strategic worldwide media partners announcing the winning companies.

Ethical Boardroom invites readers to submit their nomination for the 2017 awards program ***VOTING HAS NOW CLOSED*** Any votes cast after the 29th May will not count.

  • Tell us about yourself